The information below is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change and this may not be up to date. You may wish to check following website for latest info at https://www.washtenaw.org/286/Marriage-LicensesMarriage LawsU.S.Michigan LicenseWashtenaw CountyMarriage license Laws in the state of Michigan, here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Washtenaw County marriage license. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your ceremony date. It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans. Residency Requirement in Washtenaw County: You do not have to be a resident of Washtenaw County, but the fee is $10 more for out of state residents. (this may have changed)Residents need to apply for their marriage license in the county in which one of them lives. Non-residents need to apply for their marriage license in the county where they plan on getting married.Even though you apply for your marriage license in the county you live in, you can get married any place in Michigan.Previous Marriage: You need to know the date (mm/dd/yy) and how the last marriage ended. If it was within the last 6 months, you will need to bring proof of the divorce that can be left with the Clerk. ID Requirement in Washtenaw County:Picture id such as Drivers License. You can also use Military ID, DD 214, You must also have a certified copy of your birth certificates.You will also need to know your parents addresses, and your mothers' maiden names. Foreign birth certificates need to be translated into English, and be notarized.Waiting Period: There is a three (3) day waiting period in Washtenaw County. The waiting period does not include the application day. The waiting period may be waived by the Washtenaw County Clerk for "good and sufficient cause shown." The license is valid anywhere in the state for thirty-three (33) days from the date of application.How Much a Marriage License Cost?Washtenaw County: $20 if you are a resident of Michigan. $30 for non-residents. Some counties may charge more. Bring cash. Most counties do not accept checks. (this may have changed).Requirements and fees may vary as each county in Michigan could have their own requirements.Name Change:Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit. Witnesses:Witnesses have to be at least 18 years of age. Some counties follow this new law more strictly than others. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.